on Venezuelan Black: hot chocolate

May 15, 2008

I drink hot chocolate on a regular basis. I always have. So today, it was definitely time to see how Tania and Willie Harcourt-Cooze’s choc shoc shapes up.

The hot chocolate starts off unpromisingly pale but as it heats up the chocolatey colour becomes more intense, as does the aroma that wafts up from the saucepan. It did become thicker as more steam started to rise but then I noticed the volume of liquid start to reduce. As you can see in the picture, there was nowhere near enough chocolate to fill the espresso cup. I suspect it was down to the giraffes. You see, in my experience giraffes can be rather cheeky, and I can only assume there was some secret slurping going on while I wasn’t looking.

So what was it like? Well, it had a richer flavour that my usual hot chocolate and gave an instant heady hit. I think I’ll be trying this one again soon.

 

Serves 1

100ml water
50ml milk 
3 tbsp grated cacao
1/2 tsp golden granulated sugar

Heat the water and milk in a saucepan. Add the grated cacao and whisk occasionally until the mixture boils. Towards the end of the cooking time, add the sugar.

Note: In the recipe above, I’ve doubled the quantities of the ingredients so that hopefully you’ll have a full espresso-sized cup to enjoy.

2 Responses to “on Venezuelan Black: hot chocolate”


  1. This is a great picture- I love hot chocolate, but have never made it myself like this. This makes me want to try.

  2. Jonathan_W Says:

    Seeing Venezuelan Black in Waitrose on Saturday and remembering this recipe I decided to give it a whirl. It was so nice, next time I made double the amount, unfortunately the extra got “given away”.

    Will try the chicken mole next week if I have any cacao left.

    Great cup by the way =)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

